Connect with us


Dr Xiaomei Havard Sworn In As Member of South African Parliament



In a bid to fill the vacant positions in the National Assembly, The African National Congress (ANC) has appointed Dr Xiaomei Havard to replace the office held before by late minister in the presidency, Jackson Mthembu who passed away over the weekend from COVID-19 complication.

Dr Xiaomei Havard is Chinese-born businesswoman Dr Xiaomei Havard from Gauteng.

The ruling party’s parliamentary office announced on Wednesday that Mthembu’s position in the national assembly would be filled by Dr Xiaomei.

Five new members of Parliament were also appointed into the National Assembly.

Former eThekweni councillor Kavilan Pillay replaced Loyiso Mpumlwana who served on the constitutional review committee.

Former OR Tambo District Mayor Dingaan Myolwa from the Eastern Cape replaced the late Pumza Dyantyi.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *