Connect with us


The Best FIFA 2020 Awards: Schedule, Award categories, Judges, Winners & Live Streaming



We are going to share with you everything you need to know about this Thursday’s FIFA award gala-night.

The Best FIFA 2020, is the award that celebrates the best of the year in world football by FIFA, will be delivered in a virtual ceremony, unlike the years passed since its creation in 2016, due to the pandemic of coronavirus that is affecting the whole world.

In the absence of the Ballon d’Or, which will not be delivered this year due to COVID-19, the world of football will look this Thursday towards the FIFA trophies ‘The Best’, which must reward football stars in 2020, at a gala for a videoconference in Zurich (Switzerland).

Award Categories:

11: is the number of prizes that will be awarded by the international jury throughout the evening.

Among the six main awards, within men’s football, FIFA will present the prestigious award for the best coach and finally the best goalkeeper.

Regarding women’s football, three distinctions will be awarded applying the same logic: best player, best coach, and best goalkeeper.

In addition to these six awards, the most prestigious, the jury will award the famous.

FIFA will designate the eleven type of the season and, more anecdotally, will award a fair-play distinction and an award to the fans valuing “an exceptional gesture or moment” after the vote of the fans.

About Judges

The laureates are appointed through the vote of the captains and national selectors, a group of more than 200 journalists, as well as fans who voted online between November 25 and December 9.

For the individual awards (male or female) for a best soccer player, goalkeeper and coach, each of the groups of voters represent a quarter of the total count.

From the initial rosters of 11 players and 11 players pre-selected by FIFA, the voting system allows each voter to select their three favourites for each category and in descending order in the distribution of points.

Where To Watch The Event:

The virtual event, which will take place at the FIFA headquarters in Zurich, Switzerland, will begin at 12:00 noon Honduras time (7:00 PM Spanish time).

The ceremony will be broadcast live on the FIFA website and will be hosted by AC Milan legend Ruud Gullit, accompanied by journalist Reshwin Chowdhury.

Press conferences with the big winners will take place at the end of the awards ceremony.

About The Trophies

Designed by the Croatian artist Ana Barbic Katicic, each trophy, with a platinum patina, measures 31 centimetres, weighs 6.4 kilos and sports a ball inspired by the one used in the first World Cup final, in 1930 between Uruguay and Argentina.

Who Are The Finalists

FIFA announced since last December 11 the finalists for the different categories, among which we can observe both candidates and candidates to be selected as the best footballers of this year.

FIFA Best Female Player Awards

Lucy Bronze (England, Manchester City)
Pernille Harder (Denmark, Chelsea FC)
Wendie Renard (France, Olympique Lyonnais)

The Best FIFA Player Award:

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Juventus)
Robert Lewandowski (Poland, FC Bayern Munich
Lionel Messi (Argentina, FC Barcelona)
Sarah Bouhaddi (France, Olympique Lyonnais)
Christiane Endler (Chile, Paris Saint-Germain)

Best FIFA Goalkeeper Award:

Sarah Bouhaddi (France, Olympique Lyonnais)
Christiane Endler (Chile, Paris Saint- Germain)
Alyssa Naeher (EE.UU, Chicago Red Stars)

The Best FIFA Goalkeeper Award:

Allison Becker (Brazil Liverpool)
Manuel Neuer (Germany, Bayern Munich)
Jan Oblak (Slovenia, Atletico de Madrid)

FIFA Puska Award:

Giorgian de Arrascaeta (August 25, 2019)
Son Heung-min (December 7, 2019)
Luis Suarez (December 7, 2019)

Nominated For The Best Coach:

Leeds United finalist Marcelp Bielsa and Bayern Munich’s recent Champions League winner Hans-Dieter Flick seek to snatch Jurgen Klopp’s best manger of the year awards for the second year in a row after winning the championship.

Premier League for the first time in history for the Merseyside club.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *