Connect with us


Auburn Football Coach Pat Dye dies at the age of 80yrs



Auburn football coach Pat Dye dies at the age of 80 years after he tested positive to covid-19.
The news of his death came to our knowledge on Monday 1 June 2020 after it was shared on the social media.

Last month the news of Pat being hospitalized first came out in an email sent out by Toccoa First United Methodist Church asking for prayers.

80 yr-old Dye, was recently diagnosed with the virus and was hospitalized with ongoing kidney issues, according to an email sent out by Toccoa First United Methodist Church.

Pat was the head coach of the Auburn football team from the 1981 season through the 1992 season,

He has been hospitalized in recent weeks for complications regarding his kidney functions. although he had also tested positive for Covid-19. He was moved to Bethany House in Auburn following a stay at East Alabama Medical Center in Opelika, listened to phone calls on Monday morning from family, friends and former players on Monday morning.

Pat Dye was said to have essentially been asymptomatic for the virus and is resting comfortably but the sad news of his sudden death  today has taken  many people especially the Auburn community by storm.

Pat Dye was the head coach of Auburn who led the team to Southeastern Conference championships in 1983, 1987, 1988 and 1989.

He is a member of the College Football Hall of Fame for his coaching successes at East Carolina University, the University of Wyoming and Auburn, Dye was an All-American player at the University of Georgia.

Former American football defensive end player, Benji Roland has dropped his heartfelt condolence to the family of the late Pat Dye describing him as a great man who contributed so much for Auburn.

“Coach Dye was a great man and he did so much for Auburn and Auburn football, He will be missed.”

He was the guid behind the Tigers to a 99-39-4 record in 12 seasons from 1981 to 1992, winning at least a share of SEC championships in 1983, ’87, ’88 and ’89. His Auburn teams won at least 10 games in a season four times and bowl games six times.

Pat Dye got inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2005, the same year the playing field at Auburn’s Jordan-Hare Stadium was named in his honor.

He was a three-time SEC coach of the year and 1983 national coach of the year. He coached a Heisman Trophy winner (Bo Jackson, 1985); an Outland Trophy and Lombardi Award winner (Tracy Rocker, 1988); and 21 All-Americans, 71 All-SEC players and 48 academic All-SEC players.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


World News

Local News